Strawflowers in a container

jackb

Garden Master
Reaction score
While my granddaughter and I were looking through the Southern Exposure Seed Exchange catalog earlier this year we came across straw flowers, or as they called them Everlasting Flowers. I explained to her that you have to dry them, and they will last a long long time. She wanted to try to grow them, so I thought we would give it a try, and we planted the seeds in the middle of May. I have never grown straw flowers, so I have no idea of whether they can be grown in a container, but I guess we will find out. ;)

JackB

everlatsing.jpg

vfem

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
Let me know how it goes. I have never tried straw flowers before at all!

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
I grew them in the garden last year- kind of fun... I sincerely doubt there is a plant that you cannot grow in a container, Jack! It was a little tricky knowing when to pick them for drying. If you let them go too long, the blooms look kind of dead. I decided that at full bloom and color worked the best. Looking forward to your results!

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
I have grown strawflowers and have them again this year.

Here's a little tip:

Go to the craft shop and get some florist wire - fine. After the flowers have hung and dried, take a wire and bend it 180. Slide the bend down into the flower. It will be easy to hide the wire. Twist the wire below the flower - it is your new "stem." The dry stem is very thin and fragile once it is dried. It will be easy for your assistant to break it. Her grandpa can wrap the wire with floral tape and it will look just about like a regular plant stem but the wire is okay by itself. Real thin wires will make the flowers almost seem to float when gathered together in a small vase.

And, "everlasting" they are.

Steve

jackb

Garden Master
Reaction score
digitS' said:
I have grown strawflowers and have them again this year.

Here's a little tip: