Sweet Pea Currant Tomato

SprigOfTheLivingDead

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
I'm not a fan of cherry tomatoes. There, I said it. When I was a kid I remember my friends eating them like candy, but every time I tried them I'd just picture a giant eyeball popping in my mouth when I bit down on them. I'm not stuck on that issue, and eat them from time to time, but I generally don't enjoy them as I do others. That is to say, I am a novice when it comes to them.

So, we fast forward a few years to this past summer where my new neighbor introduced me to a tiny currant sized tomato growing all over a 6' plant. I was hooked, my son too. She even let him pick one of her plants clean one day. So, needless to say, now that we had the functional room to grow I HAD to grow these.

In September I bought some seeds and germinated a bunch, but they ended up being pretty finicky and only one ended up making it -- RIP buddies. On Oct 19 he went into dirt, and now a little over a month later some flowers are saying "hi" to the world. Pretty soon here I'll have some new yum yums to consume.

I'll update the thread as time goes on.

P1090089.jpg

ninnymary

Garden Master
Reaction score
Sprig, I'm not fond of cherry tomatoes either. I really don't know why. I only grow 1 sungold and those are for my preschoolers. I will eat them occasionally when I'm outside though.

Mary

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
Hey! I grew what might be called a currant tomato: Coyote. It was sweet and flavorful.

I'm not sure if I'd want more than 1 (or, 2). There is a lot of picking involved in filling a shirtpocket! I'm all in favor of exercise, however.

Wow! Here is what Gary Ibsen of Tomatofest has to say about your Sweet Pea, "The smallest tomato I've seen. . . large, wispy, regular-leaf, indeterminate tomato plants that yield thousands of 1/4-inch, deep red, currant tomatoes that have an excellent, rich, and complex sweet flavor."

Steve

Last edited:

Smart Red

Garden Master
Reaction score