Turning a basement into a greenhouse

ninny

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
I have a large unfinished old celler type basement. I was wondering if i could turn part of it into a greenhouse type deal to grow veggies and stuff part of the year and for seed starting? I also would have bins of red worms as well. I think i could firguge out the lights but it gets so cold down there that our pipes freeze in the winter. We are working on that problem. The walls are brick and the floor is cement. I would have to do this as cheap as possible. I have a ton of scrap wood, fish tanks, shelves already. How warm does something like this have to be? Any ideas? I'm worried about fire hazards if i use a space heater or anything like that.

PunkinPeep

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I think you're going to run into a lot of expense lighting your basement enough to be a good greenhouse, especially if it's cold. But i'm not an expert. Those are just my thoughts.

Greensage45

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
PunkinPeep said:
I think you're going to run into a lot of expense lighting your basement enough to be a good greenhouse, especially if it's cold. But i'm not an expert. Those are just my thoughts.
And, then the Feds will come knocking when they see how high your Utility bill went up in one month! LOL :gig

Ron

PunkinPeep

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Greensage45 said:
PunkinPeep said:
And, then the Feds will come knocking when they see how high your Utility bill went up in one month! LOL :gig

Ron
oh yeah that too!!
:yuckyuck

injunjoe

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Greensage45 said:
PunkinPeep said:

Ron
That's funny but that is how they do it here!
They look at Utility bills. There is a grow operation on the news all the time.

Joe

obsessed

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Maybe she is in the wonderful land of California where she is allowed to have a moderate grow operation. :D

Lavender2

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
:D.... Yep... gardening should be fun!... :woot