Using the greenhouse all summer long

kalivio

Leafing Out
Reaction score
This is my first year gardening in a greenhouse and I really, really want to use it all summer. I've got another post going about how to keep it ventilated, but I thought I better start a new thread about the possible insanity I have apparently developed.

You see, each person I have talked to at my local greenhouses gives me the "you're nuts" look when I say I'm going to grow all summer in the greenhouse.

I realize it's going to get hot in there, but I am growing mostly heat-loving plants. Our temps in the summer lately have been about 30 days or so in the 90s but the evenings and nights cool down pretty well. I'm in zone 4.

Am I crazy? Here's a look at my greenhouse if you haven't seen my other posts.
img_4176.png

Thanks,
Jess

Collector

Garden Master
Reaction score
I dont think your nuts, I would try it if I had one. My brother used to grow tomatos all summer in his greenhouse. GO FOR IT!!

catjac1975

Garden Master
Reaction score
I don't know what zone you are in but I am in zone 6 in Massachusetts.
I use my green house to extend the season in both directions. I merely keep the front door open and the back too when it gets to real summer.I plant in the ground and in large black tubs with the bottom cut out. I have early salad greens, broccoli and the like for early crops. Also tomatoes, peppers, eggplant, peas and beans. Works for me.

NwMtGardener

Garden Addicted
Reaction score