What can I plant now?

simple life

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Hi there,
I am just beginning my garden.I am starting out with raised beds and am thinking of doing pots as well.
I am wondering what I can still plant and what it is too late for.I really want to do some herbs,I heard garlic gets planted in the fall, I think.I would like to plant something that is pretty as well as edible.Even if I start with one or two raised beds right now, what could go in them? I know some stuff you can grow together and some you can't.I don't mind having a mix or all of one thing.I am also going to do a bed and some pots for my children to grow something in as well. Is it too late to start strawberries? I wish I had been on this earlier but I was caught up with my chickens:) I have my husband mowing the lawn right now so I can get the area ready to start this weekend:fl
It looks like rain today so we shall see. Anyway, sorry for all of the questions but am just looking for a starting point.I know alot of it is trial and error like with the rest of gardening but I have to start somewhere right?
Thanks for any input. I am in zone 5-6

OaklandCityFarmer

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Well your first frost of the season is about mid-October or there abouts. So you still have about 140-150 days left in the season. That being said most things can grow in that time. You last frost was about mid-April so you're not that far behind.

Any warm season plants will work well. Tomatoes, corn, squash, cucumbers, eggplant, radishes, peppers, even carrots could do well.

Strawberries should be fine, just go for everbearing varieties.

It would help if you could get already grown plants just to start you off well but seeds would work just as well.

In the fall, start planting your cool season crops (peas, cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower, lettuce) for a good crop later in the year. But I guess that's getting a little too far ahead.

Happy Planting!

Baymen Moe

Leafing Out
Reaction score