?what do you plant in spring, summer, fall

Gazinga

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
i would like to plant a seasonal garden, but i am just learning what vegetables grow well in each seasons,

what do you plant in teh spring?

in the summer?

in the fall

CottageGardener123

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
:happy_flower The spring usally has the most variety of plants to plant in their season. In Spring you plant all your vegetables, and summer annuals, perenials, and bienals. From phlox, borage, nasturtims, and all other flowers that bloom in early summer - autumn to others such as lupines that bloom only in summer. Check out all the seed packs at your local gardening store. They usally say when to plant, and when they bloom.

As for summer, there isn't really anything to plant as all the spring planting usally has the summer flowers. Of course you'll always replant carrots and radishes after they mature but thats pretty much everything.

Autumn has a lot of planting to do. All spring bulbs, sweet peas, daisies, and many more flowers. Some plants such as sweet peas and lupines can be planted in spring too...its your choice when to plant.

Also, please check out my page on BYC which has a list of flowers when they bloom and when they plant:
http://www.backyardchickens.com/web/viewblog.php?id=15915-Cottage_Seeds

Enjoy your day! and happy gardening! :)

Ron

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
My favorite garden is the Fall garden. I have mustard greens which I am now harvesting, cabbage, black Tuscan kale, carrots, turnips, beets, chard and onions coming along. It get so hot here so quickly in summer that all my stuff seems to burn up no matter how much I water.

rebbetzin

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
Much depends on your local weather as to what to plant at what season.

Here in Tucson, I am just now planting lettuce, spinach, cabbage, onions, peas some flowers like, nasturshims, violas, etc.