What kind of roses should I get?

WIkalanchoe

Leafing Out
Reaction score
Hi folks!
I'm new to growing my own roses but after this last year I have decided that I would love to have some more on our land. I say "some more" because when we bought the place it came with a tall shrub of single petal white roses out next to the garage. With some research I found out that they were called "Sally Holmes" roses. I also found out that they had been severely neglected and had to read up and do a little pruning.
But having these roses made me want to plant a few more varieties. But I can't decide what to get. I'd appreciate any suggestions.
Any color is fine. I would definitely like to collect rose hips. And I only really have the time for something that would be easy to moderately difficult to raise.

Rosalind

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Ooooh, I've been wanting a Sally Holmes. I got one, then somehow managed to kill it, although the surrounding roses were fine. :idunno

If you want easy-peasy roses, I would go with a rugosa. They get lovely big hips for tea and jelly and so forth, they are nearly indestructible (people plant them here by the beaches, where the water is all brackish and salty), they smell heavenly, they have enough spines to deter any casual passing-by neighbor dogs or cats who may wish to poop on your lawn. :D

WIkalanchoe

Leafing Out
Reaction score
You managed to kill a Sally Homes? The previous owners of our farmette had been trying to intentionally kill the Sally Holmes on our land for a few years and never fully succeeded. I was told after a few years they just gave up and let it grow wild. Last fall I dug up a few of the suckers coming off the main plants and transplanted them to a different part of the yard. I'm hoping that they'll come back this spring and take root.

Rosalind

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
WIkalanchoe said:
You managed to kill a Sally Homes?