Who plants peas for Presidents day?

HiDelight

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I am not even sure where the heck I got it from but have been planting peas for Presidents Day for about 30 years now! Wow when I say that it is hard to believe I have been doing this for all this time! Even when there is snow or the ground is frozen I will put some in a pot just to be sure I do it ..I can not let a winter pass with out completing this one act!

Am I a superstitious woman? ..oh H E LL yes I am :) I think gardens and planting and growing are all very mystical .I can not figure it all out even after all this time ..reading ..research ...I still consider myself a complete novice each and every year...I can not even imagine being a gardener and not putting your faith in something that makes little sense but actually works so well to your benefit ..state of mind included..

I do not believe there are "experts" in the garden..there are very knowledgeable folks for sure..and I know we all think we have control and power ....but after I think the first 10 years of planting and growing I started getting REALLY humbled by the rewards and pitfalls of this wonderful way of life ... gardening to me is a complete adventure every year there is the unknown! ..so I have realized hedging my bets with ritual and superstition is not only fun ..but a really a good thing :)

Do you have seasonal traditions?

anything we do to further enhance our chances of making things grow beautifully for our pleasure and sustenance ...even if it makes no logical sense ...it is fun and worth sharing

you can invent a tradition now and pass it on you know :)

so my contribution and I am curious who else does this ...I should look it up because when I share this at work and other people always respond with "it's too early for that" or " cold" or "wet"
so join me if you want and lets

plant some peas on Presidents day for good luck!:throw