Bee decline linked to falling biodiversity

nittygrittydirtdigger

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I want to put a couple of beehives in my garden but have been frustrated because I can't find a source for the bees. I can find everything else, but no bees. At this point I'm tempted to put out a hive just to see what happens.

I'm planting wildflowers and lots of other flowers that are heavy on pollen, maybe that will entice the little critters.

Ladyhawke1

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I would think that putting out the hive first would be the best idea rather than bringing in strangers. The wild stock I would think would be stronger. You take a chance at getting diseased or weakened bees the other way. Also these bees would not be as familiar with the area. But then I am not an expert. :/

Because we do not see them doesn't mean they are not there. Last year I only saw one or two and now they are all over the place. We tolerate each very well. :ya

Ah ...... to have money to burn. Here is a great bee hive I have coveted in passing.

http://www.omlet.co.uk/products_services/products_services.php?view=Bees

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
I started keeping bees last spring- it has been a fascinating experience so far...I have also purchased a mason bee house. These bees do not store honey, but are great for the garden. I'll let you know how that goes. The mason bees find the house by themselves-we'll see. If you want bees check around and see if you have a beekeeping club. The members can be very helpful and some of them have bees to sell. Think spring!

journey11

Garden Master
Reaction score
I just got a started hive last fall from an elderly gentleman going out of the bee business.