Can you clone tulips?

AMKuska

Garden Master
Reaction score
Is there anyway to clone a tulip? This is my first year planting tulips and this one is so cool. It's got streaky yellow all through it. I'd love to have more of these but I don't know how bulb flowers work.

Attachments

• IMG_20240413_115219.jpg
    IMG_20240413_115219.jpg
    101.8 KB · Views: 17

catjac1975

Garden Master
Reaction score
Is there anyway to clone a tulip? This is my first year planting tulips and this one is so cool. It's got streaky yellow all through it. I'd love to have more of these but I don't know how bulb flowers work.
I just read one way is to take cuttings and use routing hormone. I find that hard to believe. You can grow the seeds, but they will not come true. Tulips produce bulblets but I have never seen a bulb do other than reproduce itself. Obviously there must be a way that the pros do it.

flowerbug

Garden Master
Reaction score
they are so beautiful and so many varieties. :)

you may find that after the flower finishes (cut it off right at the top near the petals, but leave all the leaves alone as much as possible) that when reforming the bulb and flower for the next year that there will be little bulblets also formed. it can take a few years before those bulblets will get big enough to flower.

high tech propagation of new varieties use cell cultures various hormones and growing mediums (i don't know anyone who does this).

the other method that more normal people can sometimes manage to increase numbers is to divide the bulb up cutting it in half, quarters, or even eighths (including parts of the basal plate) and to get those to grow, but it takes years after to get the plant large enough to flower again.

the problems (besides the time it takes to get big enough to flower again) is that in many cases you're going to lose some number of cuttings and many people don't have the space or patience to care for them for that long.