How long have you been gardening?

trunkman

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
I was thinking the other day about how long I've been gardening, both veggie and flower. Come to think of it most of my life or at least since I was ten or eleven years old. You'd think since I'm 51 now that I would know a lot about it, but it seems that the older I get the more I realize how much I don't know about much of anything. You'd think since I've been growing stuff for about 40 years I would be an expert but since I've been on this forum I've learned more than a lifetimes worth of experience and learn something new every time I log onto this forum. Thanks to everyone who shares their little bit of knowledge on here, it helps us all and makes for very interesting reading. Happy gardening everyone. :D

KozyOrchard

Sprout
Reaction score
I have been gardening since I was very young. My grandmother taught me most of my beginning gardening information and since then I have learned a lot on my own. I have found that I have learned much more from others about things that I never dreamed of than I have learned on my own.

ninnymary

Garden Master
Reaction score
I've been gardening for about 2 years. But for me the basics are pretty straight forward. It's the crazy weather changes that throw me for a loop! Foggy summers sure make it hard to keep powdery mildew off zuchini!

Mary

catjac1975

Garden Master
Reaction score
Since I was 4 or 5. My Mother gave me all of her plants that were not doing well. She told me, "Look how they only grow for you." 55 years ago. What a gift.

retiredwith4acres

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Ah, about 60 years! As a small child I was taken to the garden to work with my parents and my grandmother. Of course, playing in the dirt was the first lesson I learned and then other things followed. I now want to eat healthier so grow my own food and hopefully preserve some of it this year. I have never done much preservation.

The Mama Chicken

Attractive To Bees