Rodents in the greenhouses

greengenes

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
The rats are biting the spaghetti tubes to either drink, or to just mess with me...or maybe it is fun~ like eating licorice whips, I don't know. All I know is that I am so very tired of it.
They seem to have figured out the spring traps and avoid them. Also, I have to spring them each day to keep from getting a dog who seem to be less wary than the rats.
The glue traps seem so inhumane, and the poisons will poison anything that catches and eats a poisoned rat.
Any suggestions? That works for you all? I am not good with guns, so rat shot is not an option. (Not that I am against guns, they just should not be used by me in an enclosed space.)

thistlebloom

Garden Master
Reaction score
I don't have to deal with rats, but I have recently had a major mouse infestation in my chicken pen and coop. The neighbors who had been propagating them abandoned their property, so all those hungry rodents moved across the road to my place. :rolleyes:

In order to catch them in the snap traps and exclude the nosy chickens I put them (the traps ) in a small cage that the hens couldn't get their faces in. That worked pretty good, but I did eventually resort to poison in a lidded can that could only be accessed by a rodent.

Smart Red

Garden Master
Reaction score
How about a pair of cats? Put them inside the coop at night and take them out in the morning. Perhaps have a safe haven for them to avoid early chickens. I know the two brother cats in my wood shop work as a team to keep the corn we have for our corn burner rodent free.

thistlebloom

Garden Master
Reaction score
Oh, I don't know if they would work for rats, but have you tried the Adirondack traps?