Sorry I haven't been around much

Jared77

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
I'm swamped. Any free time at work I'm studying and working on additional classes so I can advance myself. At home......well lets see I've got easily 2 dozen pints of soup made, 3 dozen pints and some assorted quarts of sauce made. Over 2 dozen jars of apple sauce (and I've got at least another 3 bushels of apples to work with free from the in-laws) and 12 pints and 4 of chicken stock canned already.

PLUS I've been making baby food. 14 ice cube trays a piece of apples, pears, peaches, green beans, peas, and I've got acorn squash to start on. Not to mention the frozen rhubarb in the freezer, and I can't even tell you how many quarts of blueberries we've got in freezer bags waiting for something to be done with them.

Plus all the day to day stuff, its just never ending right now. The baby is not on solids yet but they are in when they come in so I'm grabbing them at the last of the farmers markets. Just the other day I bought 18 acorn squash (the piebald ornamental ones) for 10 dollars. They were more expensive but it was the last day of the market in that particular town and it was getting close to closing time. I offered to buy them all if the seller was willing to give on the price a bit. Going to save a few seeds and see if they produce true. They are really nice looking.

I swear I'm never going to get caught up, especially with hunting season creeping up on us (its on now but not with the weather we're having the meat will spoil before I could do anything with it though these 70 degree days in October are nice even if waaay out of the norm for us) and then the holidays creeping up. :barnie

Its getting there but I just haven't had time to poke my head on here.

Carol Dee

Garden Master
Reaction score