The Cost of Education

OldGuy43

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I'm not talking about the cost to the taxpayers, I'm talking about the stuff that the kids have to bring themselves.

When I started school, after kindergarten where we needed a "nap mat" the only things we had to bring were a Big Chief tablet
2578148312_155ff5161a.jpg

and a couple of wooden pencils. That was it.

Fast forward to today. Here's the list of supplies for grades K-6:

http://archive.austinisd.org/academics/parentsinfo/supplies/

and, in case you didn't notice individual schools may require more.

Somehow, without all that stuff I managed to graduate from college with an engineering degree. Other kids went all the way to PhD. WTH! :rant

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score
I remember the paper and pencils, #2 by the way. And a clipboard. That was it for grade school.

You had an advantage though. I got my Civil Engineering degree in spite of never going to kindergarten. It's not that it wasn't required. Kindergarten wasn't even offered.

One year at college, three quarters, cost $1750. That included all tuition, dorm room, and a five day a week meal ticket. Books were extra. You know, you can make it through a weekend on one loaf of French bread when you are young and broke.

rebbetzin

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
This is one of my HOT BUTTONS!! Our schools here are AWFUL!! Have been for decades now.

We taxpayers put in more and more money, and the kids get less and less education. They made a big deal when the Lottery was approved how it would cover all the educational costs for the state.. yeah right! Every year they want more of our money for the failing public schools here.

Thankfully our city has many Charter Schools, that have long waiting lists. They actually teach the three "R's" !! Amazing!!

OldGuy43

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Another thing, There were about 250 people in my high school graduating class. If I recall correctly we only had about 3 drop-outs.