Very excited

Todd Ziegler

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I have been growing a family Heirloom tomato for about 20 years now called "ziegler's fleisch" up until now I have had the same tomatos show up year after year (same shape, size, color). However this year I have a new shape showing up, it's a ribbed shape. I don't think it's a result of an accidental cross because I have never grown a tomato that has a ribbed shape. I can't wait to start a selection program next year for stabilizing this new shape. I will isolate this new tomato next year, so that I can be sure of no problem with the seed. I hope I can have a stable variety in 5 years but only time will tell.

Attachments

• IMG_20160731_072651.jpg
    IMG_20160731_072651.jpg
    119.2 KB · Views: 211

Todd Ziegler

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I have not had any ripen yet but I one that looks like it will be red. As far as I can see it looks like about 5 tomatos from that plant will have ribbing to a various degree. The tomato in the picture has the most pronounced ribbing. I couldn't get a good picture of the other 4 but I will add a picture for comparison.

Todd Ziegler

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Here is a tomato from the same plant. The ribbed ones appear to be slightly bigger but that will remain to be seen as I start the selection process. Also I need to pick 5 names for the 5 new tomatos that I will save the seed from. I want to incorporate my children's names into the names of the tomatos. Madolyn, Anthony and Jesse (boy) Ziegler. Any suggestions would be great.

Attachments

• IMG_20160731_081358_PerfectlyClear.jpg
    IMG_20160731_081358_PerfectlyClear.jpg
    44.3 KB · Views: 201

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
Great! You should have years of fun with those, Todd.