What Do Ya'll DO All Winter?

baymule

Garden Master
Reaction score
I have read several moaning posts about the winter and waiting for spring and I sympathize. I can't EMPATHIZE because I have no experience in winter snows and freezing cold that lasts for months and months. We have had several weeks of drizzle, freezing nights, gloomy gray skies, wind that finds the button undone on my jacket, and a few rains thrown in (for which I am grateful).

I am going nuts. :he I want to go outside and :tools dig in the dirt, finish working on the brooder cage for my baby chicks, (all 20 of them are in a large dog kennel in the living room) and make something :watering GROW! It was sleeting earlier and that gave me no incentative for playing outside. Oh sure, I have things I could be doing inside, but the gray gloom I see outside permeates to the inside, with the result that I don't want to do anything. Oh wait, yes I do want to do something inside--I want to make a lemon chess pie and bake some bread--but the oven died a week and a half before Christmas and the new one I ordered isn't here yet. :/

So how do ya'll do it? How do ya'll stand being cooped up like a chicken looking at the gray gloom outside, the snow piles and the freezing temps ya'll complain about that never seem to end? At least we get above freezing in the daytime, up in the 40's, but it is the lack of sunshine that is getting to me. Sunday is supposed to be sunny with a high of 60. I think I'll throw a party! Then Monday it'll be back to gray gloom and drizzly rain. At least it won't be freezing, just a wet cold blah. We usually have more sunny days than this, and mixed in with all the gray gloomy days. It has just been a few weeks for me, I can't imagine what ya'll go through.