bread 'fail'

canesisters

Garden Master
Reaction score
I tried (again) making bread last night. Basic, simple, whole wheat bread.
DSCF0712.JPG
DSCF0713.JPG
I can't quite call it a 'fail' because, let’s face it, the purpose of bread is to transport melted butter - and it does this very well. But it was doughy in the middle. I mean, gooey!! It was ok for about 2” in from the crust.
Maybe didn't rise enough? I baked it about 5 mins longer than called for... actually; I was folding laundry and didn't hear the timer go off.. Maybe tried to make too large of loaves?? These are about 8-10" across.
It was a basic recipe of flour/yeast/salt/ water - mix - kneed - rise - shape - rise - bake (425 - 20 mins).
I baked them in 2 tall stock pots instead of loaf pans because I wanted round loaves.
TOTAL NEWBIE who has yet to make a successful (crusty, fluffly, light-ish, yummy all the way through) loaf. Any suggestions??????

buckabucka

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
DH puts 1 T. of gluten per cup of flour in whole wheat bread. It will give it a better (less dense) texture.
Also, if you get a thermometer, like the kind you would stick in a roast, the internal temperature of the bread needs to be 190 degrees to be cooked through.
DH has always baked our bread until this summer, when a really good bakery opened up! I think the bakery loaves are only part whole wheat, but the loaves are great!

thistlebloom

Garden Master
Reaction score
They don't look done to me, and 20 minutes doesn't seem near long enough and 425 sounds like too high a temp too.
Heck, maybe it's your recipes fault?

Was it a two loaf recipe?

I have a quick 2 hour wholewheat recipe that comes out great every time.
You can make round loaves on a baking sheet too. They come out a bit more rustic, but good.

canesisters

Garden Master
Reaction score
The recipe actually said something like "shape the dough into a few Itialian loaf shapes", so maybe there wasn't enough time for my much larger loaves to bake through.