Hello from Ontario!

sdavie

Leafing Out
Reaction score
Welp, I'm a new user here. I live in a tiny 450 sq. ft. apartment in central Ontario with nothing but a tiny fire escape and fire escape landing as outside space (we have access also to a front porch but it's really dark and we mostly just have a bbq there). I am happily engaged to the man of my dreams, Luke, and we have a 6.5 month old fawn Pug named Pippa (or Miss Pips, Pippy, etc.). My fiance is an Engineer and I am studying to become a Veterinary Technician and we both love sustainable living, permaculture, vegetable gardening and making the best use of small spaces! Our goal this year is to have a wee vegetable garden on our fire escape, mostly in pots, but with some inventive design ideas that will allow us to maximize the space we have.

This weekend we will be building the first phase of our garden beds, which will be a 10" deep cedar bed that will slot over the roofline of our downstairs neighbour's kitchen. This bed will have hoops made from pex piping to create a poly tunnel over it. We are also planning to put in a table top bed that will sit underneath our fire escape on the ground below to house our spinach and lettuce as it's darker and cooler down there and hopefully that will help prevent them from bolting when it starts to get hot and humid here. You will notice there is a planter box that hangs from the railing, my fiance is planning on making another to go there and those too will be planted out.

This past weekend I planted some spinach, lettuce, scarlet runner beans, haricot beans, and homesteader peas. We will also be putting in tomatoes, peppers and hopefully potatoes in home depot buckets.